| James Emery

British Road Race Championships

Peter Kennaugh (Sky Pro Cycling) took his second British men's road title on Sunday, while Lizzie Armitstead (Boles Doelmans) showed how strong she is by powering away from the ladies field to seal the win.

Strong crosswinds and a frantic pace upfront saw the peloton blown apart, the first 100km being done in a little over 2hrs! Kennaugh and Stannard of Team Sky escaped the leading group of Mark Cavendish, Luke Rowe, Scott Thwaits and Adam Blyth!

Thwaits and Blyth now being distanced by Rowe and Cavendish who worked together to bring back the two leaders! With only 12km remaining Stannard jumped off the front, Kennaugh and Cavendish covered the move and left Stannard and rowe to contest 3rd!

It was only the final climb of Micahelgate that Kennaugh managed to put daylight between Cavendish and himself! Kannaugh becomes a back-to-back winner of the title a feat last seen in 2003/2004 with Roger Hammond.

Yanto Barker and Jonathan Mould (ONE Pro Cycling) finished 8th and 10th respectively, a great result for ONE Pro Cycling and all involved! Wearing Pro Cycling Kit by Le Col